Robert Shetterly to Give Commencement Address at Lyndon State College

Robert Shetterly at Lyndon State CollegeFrom the Lyndon State College website: Robert Shetterly will deliver the address at Lyndon State College's 103rd commencement ceremonies Sunday, May 17, 2015. More than 285 graduates and their families are expected to fill the tent on the LSC soccer field for the 11 a.m. ceremony.

[Shetterly] will be joined on the dais by student speaker Mason Brewer '15. Red Tin Box will sing the Class Song; the band members are Andrew Fahle '15, Michael Mahn '15, Garrett LaBarge '16, and Thomas Shahan '16. Jacqueline Laviolette '15 will sing the national anthem. The Catamount Pipe Band will play both processional and recessional; Ian MacDonald '14 is the pipe major.

LSC President Joe Bertolino will present Micheline Auger with an honorary Bachelor of Humane Letters degree for her services and contribution to the Newport community. Auger was a student at Lyndon in the 1960's. In the summer before her junior year, she was injured in a motorcycle accident that left her in a coma with multiple broken bones and brain damage; she was never able to return to Lyndon to finish her teaching degree. She recovered her mobility with her father's extensive help and now she volunteers every day to help beautify Newport. Her service has been recognized by the Newport Police Department, the Newport Rotary Club, Newport's City Council, and WCAX.

This is the third honorary degree awarded by LSC since poet Galway Kinnell was recognized in 2002; in 2013, Dr. Ray Griffin of Barton, Vermont, was made an honorary member of the Class of 1942. Last year Joseph D'Aleo received an honorary doctoral degree for his accomplishments as an educator and as a pioneer in the field of broadcast meteorology.

Bertolino will also present two 2015 LSC Presidential Medals of Distinction. The award, created in 2013, honors an individual or organization who has contributed significantly to both Lyndon State College and the NEK community. The individual honoree is Sha'an Mouliert, a community organizer, educator, and artist. She co-founded the African American Alliance of the Northeast Kingdom, a grassroots organization committed to racial justice. Mouliert facilitates Theater of the Oppressed trainings; she has led conflict resolution, human potential, creative expression, racial justice, and community organizing workshops nationally and internationally. The service organization Umbrella is also an honoree. The organization offers safety, support, and self-determination options for women and families and "exemplifies social justice." Renee (Kelly) Swain '09 is executive director for Umbrella and will be accepting on behalf of the organization. Previous Medal winners include Gary W. Moore, Jan Eastman, and Bill Stenger.