Diane Wilson: Stop the Matagorda Ship Channel Dredging Project

What: Stop the Matagorda Ship Channel Dredging Project Webinar with Diane Wilson and Ann Wright

When: Saturday, April 17, 2021 4 PM PT/6 PM CT/7 PM ET

Where: Zoom, please RSVP for Zoom info

Ann Wright will be interviewing CODEPINKer and Vets for Peace member Diane Wilson about her month of actions to stop the Matagorda Ship Channel Dredging Project & Stop Oil Exports in this webinar.

BACKGROUND: April 7th, 2021 4th-generation shrimper, activist, and author Diane Wilson began a hunger strike at the waterfront of Lavaca Bay to demand that the Biden Administration stop the dredging of the mercury-contaminated Matagorda Ship Channel,  and ban crude oil exports.

If the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers allows it to proceed, the proposed dredging of the Matagorda Ship Channel - for the sole purpose of enabling the export of crude oil from a new oil terminal proposed by little-known oil company Max Midstream - would unearth potentially devastating mercury contamination from a Superfund site in Lavaca Bay, devastating fisheries that local communities are working to restore and revitalize. The project trashes the community and the climate to create profit for oil companies. 

Diane’s hunger strike presents the Biden Administration with a clear choice: protect or destroy a revitalizing, sustainable economy?

Please join us for an illuminating conversation about Diane's campaign to stop the dredging of Matagorda Bay and stop crude oil exports. Until then, join CODEPINK and tell President Biden NOW: #StopTheDredging and #StopOilExports!

AWTT portrait of Diane Wilson
event_image_with Diane_Wilson